Owls in my Soul

The Owl is my Miahanit, what some people here would call “nagual Medicine Guide” and very sacred to me.

It came through the family through my heritage. Owl was the Guide of my Siberian great grandmother, and my grandmother on my father’s side of the family; (Siberian First Nation) But also my Gypsy grandmother had an Owl as a Guardian and for a while had a tame Screech Owl living in her bender and in later years there was another one, Kautze, living in the hole of the Apple Tree of her small garden plot.

The Owl is the Power that aids and guides me when I work with sick people, to find what is wrong, to find and “see” cancer cells and to work with terminally ill people.

I wear Owl feathers in my braids and also always have some on my ritual drums and regalia.

Native people fear the Owl as a messenger that can fly into death and come back from there, but I can only heal when Owl takes me straight there and makes me see what is wrong. …. And sometimes Owl will just show that the person will “walk the wind” soon and all I can do is help them and the family to find peace, closure and loose the fear.

In trance journeys I work with 3 Owls. Each has a name.

There is my Heart Owl, the one Umai E’ne gave me as a life-long guide and companion. She is small and fluttered right into the center of my heart to roost there. She has a quite peculiar name. When I asked Umai E’ene, why, She said, “So you KNOW”

And that is right, Ifffffffff that was at all some sort of wishful thinking or “made up”  I = my ego would NEVER have given her that name! 🙂

Besides, I was quite young….

Then there is a large Snowy Owl, who only swoops down when I am working with sick clients. She is wise, but aloof and remote.

I am FILLLLLLED with reverence and respect and deference for her in my ordinary life, but in trance she is one of “the gang” often its leader = guides the journey. (I may talk about “the gang” = my group of quite diverse Spirit Animals another day.)

Lately, there is yet another Owl, showing up more and more regularly: A Barn Owl.

Most often when my client is of Celtic heritage – or “Western European descend” This one guides me through issues of culture and realms filled with Neolithic Stone Circles and Celtic mythic figureheads, that until recently were utterly foreign territory to me.

See, lately I have been working with client after client who have issues of needing to move away from an adopted Native American / new age – eclecticism and re-connect with their OWN ancestral culture in order to get healthy again or resolve longstanding conflicts.

There this Owl, I will here call her White Feather, is immensely helpful, blurping out the ancestral lineage of said client and which Ancestral Guardians feel neglected in such a way, that they no longer support his/ her Life Energy and the client took sick, often with life threatening diseases.

White Feather however works under the eye and wing of my large Snowy and it is amazing to see, how fast clients heal, get better, fall into remission, when they follow the Wisdom related by these 2 Guides.

In Siberia, traditionally we wear Owl feathers on our headdresses and our regalia. Owl and Raven, and sometimes Magpie and the Shaman-Bird, the Kukuk – a Robin sized Bird, named after his call,

Traditionally we would not wear Eagle feathers. Eagles were for hunting by day, for war and also the Eagle Spirit was the instructor for the very first Kham = shaman, wearing his feathers was inappropriate. Nowadays, with all the “shaman- tourism” to Tuva and Westerners bringing Native American drums and cultural values to our people, many have taken to wearing Eagle feathers – for the tourists. And because they are easier to get and you can sell them for good money. See, we have tame Eagles, Gyrfalcons too, we bread them, to hunt and they molt 2x a year….. so you get lots of feathers…..

Here, when I wear owl feathers, people think, either I am a crazzzzzy hippie, left over from an era gone by, or I am some type of Native American. The Native Americans however are quite wary of Owls and Owl feathers and often comment on, or ask, why I would wear Owl feathers.

Then that becomes a teaching opportunity and I tell them about my culture and our traditions. This is a tricky subject, because it often is the first time that they ever hear of Siberian culture and spirituality and how VERY similar our lore, legends and worldview is.

From their days in school they always heard of the land-bridge, and that they supposedly have come from Siberia…….

That whole issue however is a good subject for another day….

Often simply out of respect for their culture I do not wear my Owl feathers, when officiating at Pow Wows or attend our Longhouse gatherings.

Talking about Owls, the one in the right corner of this blog is one, that wintered on our property one year.

Then we have a lovely little Northern Saw Whet Owl that lives in the Spruce forest East of our house and comes at night to hunt Mice and Voles underneath our Bird feeders.

She has several refrigerators among the Trees: The upper branches of young Spruce Trees, where the twigs are close enough together to lay a dead Mouse across and let it freeze – for tough times.

Yes, sometimes it is a bit macabre to snowshoe through our bush…

Next there is Kukuku Uuh, our Barred Owl, who nests on the other side of the creek in a large Pine Tree.

We have a long relationship. I can call her in – when/ if she is hungry she will come and I will toss her a live mouse, caught in one of our life traps. She will either catch it in mid- air or let it run across the snow and grab it from there. I only do that murderous act, if snow conditions are bad for Owls, when the snow is frozen hard and impenetrable and makes it difficult for Owls to hunt.

That on the other side is also the time, when “Kuukie” as we call her, shows up and claims the territory beneath the feeders.

Hard times then for the little Saw Whet……

On winter with a lot of snow, “Kuukie” literally begged, by sitting on the railing of the upper deck and making “glucksing and coooing” sounds and moving neck and upper body up and down in rapid motion.

Then I better have a mouse!

When Spring comes Owls become quite vocal and we hear their love calls across the marsh and soon after all becomes very secretive and quiet. The eggs are in the nest….

 

Ok:

Peter advised me, to do some shameless advertising and ad a few pieces of how we then translate toe presence of the owl Guardians into tangible reality:

08 pin owl on tree

Looking for another Mouse

pin owl w shaman etch SCB (2)

Shaman's Owl Medicine PouchSnowshoe hare fur, Owl feathers, bone

Shaman’s Owl Medicine Pouch, Snowshoe Hare fur, Owl feathers, bone
26 cm X 18 cm

12 thoughts on “Owls in my Soul

  1. Enjoyed reading about owls! I can’t word it that well – but i am utterly fascinated with them!
    Btw, i’d love to read your review of Shapeshifters deck – i am ignorant on the tradition, but i enjoy the artwork, so i wonder whether it makes sense from your perspective!

  2. Thank you!
    eventually I might dare to write a little more about Owl Medicine and how it is – for me, to work with my Owls and clients…..
    Feel free to write about your Owl experiences here – or link it from your blog.

    A Shapeshifters deck? I have to find out more about it! 🙂
    Thanks for the tip!

  3. Pingback: Owl Meanings | Awakened Me

  4. An impressive share! I have just forwarded this onto a co-worker who had been doing a little research on this.
    And he in fact bought me breakfast because I discovered it for him…
    lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanks for spending the time to talk about this topic here on your web page.

  5. I’m in need of seven redish brown great horned owl feathers for my scared bundle. They cannot be bought through the web and owls are rare in ga. Can anyone help me get them? I need seven three from each wing and the center tail feather

Leave a Reply

