Bear Medicine Pouch

Bear medicine Pouch:

I made this pouch, in honor of the Summer Solstice 2012 and the Healing Bear Spirit with whom I work on my clients.
It is also inspired by the many trance journeys I undertake in order to help my patients who are then laying on the mighty Bear fur in my treatment area here in my home.

This pouch is small and is meant to be worn around the neck, while meditating on healing or doing healing work.
It is Deer leather, gemstones, bone and wooden beads. I added Black Bear fur and a claw as well as a hand cut mighty She-Bear, from Bear bone, and a hand cut bone Eagle. Wolf and Rabbit fur are attached to the strap.
The fur, bone and claw originate from a Bear that was unfortunately killed last year in the fall hunt.

As it costs upwards of $ 2000.00 to cure and preserve a Bear fur this fur, head and paws were dumped into the trash of the local garbage dump. I rescued it from there, (..a smelly affair), had it professionally cured and now am attempting to give it a new live and purpose through my art.

Bear is and has always been, since the earliest human culture one of the most important Guardians and guides for a shaman. In Chauvet Cave in France altars with Cave Bear skulls were found. they predate the arrival of homo sapience and bear evidence of a Bear cult among the Neanderthal People. The first humans then added drawings of Bears in red ocher.
since these ancient times Bear gives strength, wisdom , reflection, introspection and – since Bear digs up roots, the power to heal with roots and herbs and plants. Among the Ainu, in Siberia, in Northern Europe and North America, just to name a few, evidence of this worldview is still prevalent and practiced widely.

For our tribe, the Uryanchai in Tuva, Siberia, the Bear, always called “revered Elder Bear“and is a Guardian and protector of the East of the “Wheel of Life”

The Celts revered Art, the Bear as the Primal Power, Sovereignty, deep instinct.
Art is the clan animal of King Arthur, the name coming from the Greek word Artos = Bear…..

Native American people recognize the Power of Bear as strength, goodness and knowledge of Self. Most tribal lore speaks of Bear bringing the powers to heal with herbs to the Medicine man/ woman.
For the Anishinaabe People Bear (Maqua) strands in the North of the Medicine Wheel, while most other tribes see the Bear in the West as a healer, having the Power to heal with herbs. (Herbalist)
The Mohawk People have a story, how Bear brought the Powers of healing to the Clan Mother of the Bear Clan People.
The Petroglyph design on the back of the pouch is Misquade i’ she = Mother Earth the Turtle upon which we all live from Petroglyph Provincial Park and Shoz Lisquoi, the Inde’ Bear with the lightning bolt for healing.

Other materials:

Deer leather: To honor Wa-Washkesh-shi, the Deer, seen to be standing in the dawn of Morning and promoting none-violent means to reach a goal as well as female sensuality. Deer is also here to balance the Powers of Bear, as it creates the balance between predator and prey.

Turquoise: This Stone Sisters is sacred to most First Nations People upon Turtle Island, standing for prevention of injuries and harm, for the Winter Solstice and the returning of the light. It also is seen as a gem for healing especially for the Apache= Inde’ and Navajo People.

Turquoise is just as revered in Siberia. There standing for the protective powers of Sky Father and his emissaries.

The Feathers I used:
Pheasant – pride in one’s own heritage
Ruffed Grouse – drumming and chanting
Heron – order and patience, the pragmatist, leader of the Medicine Circle
Robin – Joy of Morning
Evening Gross beak = sense of family, responsibility

Mallard – family values

********************************************************

Just in case, you were wondering; yes, this pouch is for sale.

It is a 12 hour work and I would need

$Can 110.00 for it….

8 thoughts on “Bear Medicine Pouch

  1. As others have already said, it is beautiful,if I lived nearby(or even in the same country) I would buy it from you. Why? Because I like it…. and what I really do also like… is the description you gave Mi-Shell… on what went into & onto the bag, including the “smelly affair” from the rescue at the local garbage dump.
    I think you ‘have’ succeeded in giving that bear a “new” purpose through your art!

    • Hi Christina! 🙂
      Thank you for your interest in my Medicine Pouches!
      The pieces I make are in the range of $ US 110.00 to $ 400.00
      The small Bear Medicine Pouch sold for $ 130.00.
      I could make yo one, similar to that one = that style with the Medicine
      Animal of your choice
      Then there is a Tarot card sized Wolf pouch for sale – $ 110.00
      the Petroglyph bag is for sale = $185.00
      and among others I have a large red and brown pouch with Fox fur…..$
      220.00 ~~ 22cm x 17 cm inside dimensions….
      Let me know your thoughts 🙂
      Blessings!
      Mi-Shell

  2. My name is Joseph and I love the bear medicine bag…I would like to purchase one…I am on a journey and my heart/spirit says this is the one … please contact me back at… wildlifejoe@yahoo.com … I am a wildlife rescuer…these past many months I’ve been having dreams that I can’t explain but know and feel that the journey I’m on is a good one… The sounds of drumming,native chants,walks…etc.I grew up a christian.but this feels right like I was here before and need to open up and have faith in this journey of mine… there’s more but I beieve you already know what I’m going through… I look forward to hearing from you… Joseph

    • Hi Joe! Nice to meet you!
      I am very happy that you like my pouch! the one seen on the blog is sold, but I would be honoured, to make you one just like it!
      I would like to know, how big you envision it. also , where do you live? I am asking because of sending it to you!
      Please e-mai me your address and particulars on bearpaw@muskoka.com, which is our e-mail. then we can talk away fron the public blog…..
      Blessings!
      Mi-Shell

Leave a Reply

