Grandmother Chant

Ya no maa…..

My Inde’ teacher taught me the Ya no maa chant waaaaay back, when I was 21.

-Actually I should rather write it like this:

Ya’no ma’a’

…because of the way “a” is vocalized in Inde’….

He taught me this chant and several others and then, when I was keyed into the melody, the inner voice of it, (what we in the West would call “entrained”, then he had me sing/chant my own words to the melody.

Anything that came to my mind, anything I needed, anything I was “calling out for” or “calling in”

So since then, that is what I do: I chant the Ya no maa

and then…….

. This one is for my Grandmother and my Great Grandmother….

. the women of my lineage:

It’s the right time of year for a chant like this.

When the trance comes, so does Grandmother Ulaly

… and we talk….

One thought on “Grandmother Chant

  1. Very nice Mi-Shell, as well, I do the same although in my own chants of the Mi’kmaw..and other of my lineage..have been for many yrs and the Grandmothers of generations on back are always with me (us) in my work and in my personal walk. Blessings to you and your beautiful Spirit. Love Pam.

Leave a Reply

