Wolf Woman:

Wolf woman:

It was a rainy morning here, but in late afternoon the sun was coming out.

I had been sitting down all day, first writing about my new Tarot deck then working on a small Medicine Pouch.

Now I needed some exercise. But going for a walk these days is not an option. Tooooo many Mosquitos, Blackflies, and now the fast and voracious Deerflies are out as well 😦

But I could go for a bike ride!

My bike has a name: Jubelkuh = somewhat like “happy trillering Cow”

I have it since the good old days – 1975 or so, when I still was a student nurse and had to use it to get to the large hospital I worked in. It is the very small wheeled, fold- up type, that comes apart with just the turning of a screw and then can be put into a car.

Way back then, I stuck it into my VW bus and off we went….

Nowadays I do not get very far on it – I am oooold and the road is hilly….

But Sunday safely dressed in a Mosquito net jacket, net headgear and bug spray I was happily paddling along our road along neighbor’s property, when all of a sudden I heard strange “japing sounds” coming from the dense bush. I stopped and listened It sounded like several small Wolf pups!!! 🙂

Oh rats! There was a large 4 wheel truck coming down the road from behind me, roaring past smelling nasty… and then quiet again…. so I listened some more.

There! More japing youwling and squeaaaaaaling!

High puppy voices.

And of course all the bugs had found me by now, sirrrrseling around my body and face netting and adding to the concert.

But – what was that??

Rustling bushes!

Right in front of me!

I stared, NOT moving!

There!

The bushes parted and out stepped A large brown gray She-Wolf, carrying in her snout a young pup, by the ruff of its neck.

She looked at me, “GRRRRuarrred”

How else to describe the sound a Wolf mother makes, when she sees a human and has her mouth full of baby??

Having warned me off, she crossed the road not 20 feet in front of me, tail held high, tits swinging widely.

Seconds… and she was gone.

I was enchanted and transfixed!

What a sight!

– Sure I had my camera.

Safely tucked in its shoulder bag – out of reach- out of mind in that enchanting moment.

I listened. All was quiet.

She probably had already moved the others of the litter away from the den located in the soft sandy soil near the quarry to the new rendezvous site closer to the river, closer to our home, if not on the west part of out property. They will now need more solid food – Rabbits, Grouse and Deer and we have plenty of those.

Smiling I went on with my bike ride, down to where Echo Creek crosses the road.

On my way back I stopped again and listened.

Nothing – all quiet. Woodcock

Then – some small movement just at my feet caught my eye:

Oh loooook who is sitting there, rutting for grubs and insects in the soft wet sand:

Mrs. Woodcock!

This time I had all the time in the world to get out the camera and snap a picture.

Last night late, when the rain stopped for a while I went out onto the deck and listened again.

There were yapping sounds coming from the other side of the creek!

Wolf Woman’s new home.

🙂

Wolf woman running
Carrying her child
Wolf Woman thank you!
For a glimpse of the Wild!
……………………………..Mi-Shell June 9. 2013

wolf drawing 2

 

 

5 thoughts on “Wolf Woman:

  1. How absolutely wonderful! What a special moment and an blessed memory to carry with you. Today we had a beautiful BIG Heron standing across the way from the deck just as the drum group were arriving.

  2. what a beautiful sight to have. both the wolf and pup and the bird as well. natures gift to you that day. thank you for sharing it with us.

Leave a Reply

