Nepali Spirit Animals

Finding and welcoming your Animal Spirit guide:
Bhola has created a beautiful tray with all kinds of Animals – Nepali ones and also a few others. They are all blessed with a tika and decorated with flowers. Now we are to meditate which one of them is ours and then, one by one we are to step forth, offer grain from our personal pouch, then wrap our Animal representative in colorful cloth, claim it and take it back to our personal altar.
I am last in line. But I am not worried, I KNOW, I will not get the Owl, P. will claim that and she does. I know, the Rhino is mine! I will just wait patiently…..
…. and listen to Bhola sing….
The room starts to shimmer golden, then grey.
Smoke shifts into Tiger stripes and Granma Ulali Kham appears.
“Get the Tigers! Both of them. They need to mate and reproduce!”
I feel icy cold.

“But! ….

….the Rhino!” ??!!??
“GET THE TIGERS, WILL YOU!!!!!”
There is no arguing with her. I am crestfallen and crushed.
But there is no doubt in my mind and soul. I will do as SHE orders. I will sacrifice my own yearning to do as my Ancestor tells.
As my time comes, I walk over, give my offering, put the rice all over the beloved Rhino, but dutifully take the 2 small Tigers and walk back to my altar. I wrap them into my silk scarf, for their privacy. I am soooooo sad about the Rhino! I miss it with all my heart.

Later, I go and tell Bhola about the Ancestral command and ask him, ifff maybe I can make a generous offer for the Rhino.
I sense somewhat of a language barrier and a NO.
OK……
He says, we will go visit the town and I can get a Rhino there……
Hmmmm….
My heart is aching……

Hours larer Bhola takes us to Tamil, the tourist area of Kathmandu and into the Amrita craft Co Op, where all the prices are fixed and very reasonably low. Everyone shops, as ifff there is no tomorrow. Treasures are cheap and I see 1000 things I like! Peter hunts for souvenirs for friends at home and in no time a basket is full of small treasures. I find a small mouthorgan – for 50 Rupees = -.50 cents and a beautiful Tibetan dress – for 950 Rupees = $ 9.00 no small clay Rhino. But Peter finds one out of felt and looking funny and it ends up in our basket. The others are looking at singing bowls and tinksha bells and everything else, one friend sees my dress and the hunt for a similar one for her is on…..

Amrita Craft Co op
We shop – until it is time to go to “Yak and Yeti for dinner.

.

Tamel gift shop

.

Thamel at Night

Leave a Reply

